A TRIBUTE TO PURE CUBAN JOY OF LIFE

The limited KNUT HANSEN special edition 2022. For this year’s “LA HABANA Edition” we followed the scent of Havana. We have rarely been welcomed with such open arms and such incredible warmth as in Cuba.

LA HABANA EDITION 2022 - LIMITED TO 3,000 BOTTLES

For our “LA HABANA Edition” we followed the scent of Havana, tasted the country’s most exotic fruits and got a deep insight into a very different kind of taste.

THE TASTE OF THE CARIBBEAN

The recipe of this gin is as special as the city of Havana and its people: Caribbean fruits like guanabana, guayabas, and mamey meet notes of Cuban cigar, coffee, and cocoa. This extraordinary gin experiment was rounded off by aging in Cuban rum barrels.

UN CAFÉ CON MARTA

The encounter with Marta in a poor neighborhood near the Rio Almendares has left its mark on us to this day. She invited us to one of the best cafés we had in Cuba and told us about the development of Cuba in the last decades from her point of view. Rarely we have laughed so much and marveled so much at the same time.

You can learn more about Cuba’s situation here in our conversation with Cuba expert Bert Hoffmann.

BONITA ALGERÌA DE VIVIR

Our “LA HABANA Edition” is above all a tribute to the people of Havana and all of Cuba. They have taught us an important lesson: Happiness does not mean getting what you want, it’s more about loving what you have… In addition to Marta, our thanks goes out to our following Cuban friends.

Cecilio owns the bar across from our apartment in the middle of Havana’s old town. He showed us the endless rum world of Cuba… and how to turn night into day.

Hector is the owner of “Finca Hector luis Prieto” near Pinar del Rio, which is in western Cuba. He showed us the complexity of the tobacco plant and the long way to the real Cuban cigar.

We actually met Alvaro – as the picture shows – at the gas station. Without his help our trip to Pinar del Rio would not have worked.

Without Martin, Andreas and their network we would have been lost on the spot and would have stood there without a plan, route and also without cash. Both have been living in Cuba for many years. Andreas writes as a freelance journalist for German-language newspapers and magazines about political and economic issues in Cuba. Martin takes tourists on e-bike adventures throughout Cuba.

Havana is like a unique museum

At every corner it is possible to talk to the people , to examine the street art, to taste the incredibly delicious fruits or simply to observe the hustle and bustle. All this we have tried to put in a bottle of gin.

WHERE IS CUBA TODAY?

Bert Hoffmann is THE Cuba expert in Germany. We talked to him before and after our trip. Fortunately, we recorded the latter on video. In our conversation together, Bert takes us on a journey into Cuba’s past, present and future.

Havana, we miss you!

THE CORKS

Traditionally special and pure craftsmanship – the LA HABANA corks also consist of a robust wooden cork head, in which a unique coin has been embedded in precise handwork.

THE BOTANICALS

As diverse as the country itself, are the botanicals we have distilled for our LA HABANA Edition.

32 botanicals have found their way into our bottle, in addition to guanabana, guayabas and mamey, there are coffee beans, cocoa beans and Cuban tobacco in our distillate. Let LA HABANA entice you into the world of Cuban flavors.

THE DRAWER

David Stiller is not only responsible for our unique KNUT HANSEN face, but also illustrated one of the photos we shot in Havana for the LA HABANA edition.

CUBA IN A DRINK!

Our special edition is best enjoyed neat or on ice. This is the best way to taste the variety of flavors Cuba has to offer. Add a dried mango slice, which gives the distillate a special fruity note and let yourself be enticed by Havana.

Gracias

Thanks to all the great people who contributed to this very special edition. We have never started such a project so unprepared and never before have things fallen into place so perfectly. This would not have been possible without the people in Cuba and Germany.
Gracias amigos!
THANKS

EINE HOMMAGE AN DIE PURE KUBANISCHE LEBENSFREUDE!

Die limitierte KNUT HANSEN Sonderedition 2022. 
Für unsere diesjährige “LA HABANA Edition” sind wir dem Duft Havannas gefolgt. Selten wurden wir mit solch offenen Armen und dieser unglaublichen Herzlichkeit empfangen wie auf Kuba.

LA HABANA EDITION 2022 – LIMITIERT AUF 3.000 Flaschen

Für unsere “LA HABANA Edition” sind wir dem Duft Havannas gefolgt, haben die exotischsten Früchte des Landes probiert und einen tiefen Einblick in eine ganz andere Art von Geschmack bekommen.

DER GESCHMACK DER KARIBIK

Die Rezeptur dieses Gins ist so besonders wie die Stadt Havanna und ihre Menschen: Karibische Früchte wie Guanabana, Guayabas, und Mamey treffen auf Noten kubanischer Zigarre, Kaffee und Kakao. Abgerundet wurde dieses außergewöhnliche Gin Experiment durch die Reifung in kubanischen Rum-Fässern.

UN CAFÉ CON MARTA

Die Begegnung mit Marta in einem armen Viertel nahe des Rio Almendares prägt uns bis heute. Sie hat uns auf einen der besten Cafés, die wir auf Kuba getrunken haben, eingeladen und uns die Entwicklung Kubas in den letzten Jahrzehnten aus Ihrer Sicht geschildert. Selten haben wir so viel gelacht und gleichzeitig so viel gestaunt.

Mehr über die Situation Kubas erfährst du hier in unserem Gespräch mit dem Kuba Experten Bert Hoffmann.

BONITA ALGERÌA DE VIVIR

Unsere „LA HABANA Edition“ ist vor allem eine Hommage an die Menschen in Havanna und ganz Kuba. Sie haben uns eine wichtige Lektion erteilt: Glück bedeutet nicht, immer zu bekommen, was man will, sondern das zu lieben, was man hat… Neben Marta gilt unser Dank vor allem unseren folgenden kubanischen Freunden.

Cecilio besitzt die Bar gegenüber unseres Apartment inmitten Havannas Altstadt. Er hat uns die endlose Rum-Welt Kubas gezeigt… und wie man die Nacht zum Tag macht.

Hector ist Besitzer der “Finca Hector luis Prieto” nahe Pinar del Rio, das im Westen Kubas liegt. Er hat uns die Komplexität der Tabakpflanze und den langen Weg zur echten kubanischen Zigarre gezeigt.

Alvaro haben wir – wie das Bild zeigt – tatsächlich an der Tankstelle kennengelernt. Ohne seine Hilfe hätte unser Trip nach Pinar del Rio nicht funktioniert

Ohne Martin, Andreas und ihr Netzwerk wären wir vor Ort aufgeschmissen gewesen und hätten ohne Plan, Route und auch ohne Bargeld dagestanden.

Beide leben schon seit vielen Jahren auf Kuba. Andreas schreibt als freier Journalist für deutschsprachige Zeitungen und Magazine über politische und ökonomische Themen auf Kuba. Martin nimmt Touristen mit auf E-Bike Abenteuer durch ganz Kuba.

Havanna gleicht einem einzigartigen Museum

An jeder Ecke ist es möglich, sich mit den Menschen zu unterhalten , die Kunstwerke zu begutachten, die unglaublich leckeren Früchte zu probieren oder einfach den Trubel zu beobachten. All das haben wir versucht in einer Flasche Gin unterzubringen.

WO STEHT KUBA HEUTE?

Bert Hoffmann ist DER Kuba Experte in Deutschland. Wir haben mit ihm vor und nach unserer Reise gesprochen. Letzteres haben wir zum Glück auf Video aufgenommen. Bert nimmt uns in unserem gemeinsamen Gespräch mit auf eine Reise in Kubas Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Havanna, wir
vermissen dich!

DIE KORKEN

Traditionell besonders und pure Handarbeit – auch die LA HABANA Korken bestehen aus einem robusten Holz-Korkkopf, in den in präziser Handarbeit ein einzigartiger Taler eingelassen wurde.

DIE BOTANICALS

So vielfältig wie das Land selbst, sind die Botanicals, die wir für unsere LA HABANA Edition destilliert haben.

Insgesamt 32 Botanicals haben den Weg in unsere Flasche gefunden, neben Guanabana, Guayabas und Mamey, sind Kaffeebohnen, Kakaobohnen und kubanischer Tabak in unserem Destillat. Lass dich von LA HABANA in die kubanische Geschmackswelt verführen.

DER ZEICHNER

David Stiller ist nicht nur für das einzigartige KNUT HANSEN Gesicht verantwortlich, sondern hat auch eins der Fotos, die wir vor Ort geschossen haben, für die LA HABANA Edition gezeichnet.

KUBA IN EINEM DRINK!

Unsere Sonderedition genießt du am besten pur oder auf Eis. So schmeckst du am besten die Geschmacksvielfalt Kubas raus. Lege noch eine getrocknete Mangospalte hinein, die dem Destillat eine besondere Fruchtnote gibt und lass dich so nach Havanna verführen.

Gracias

Danke an all die tollen Menschen, die an dieser ganz besonderen Edition mitgewirkt haben. Niemals vorher sind wir so unvorbereitet in ein solches Projekt gestartet und niemals vorher haben sich die Dinge dann doch so perfekt gefügt. Dies wäre ohne die vielen Mitwirkenden vor Ort in Kuba, aber auch vorher und nachher in Deutschland nicht möglich gewesen. Gracias amigos!